In school we have been practicing spelling lately.  Sometimes the words are easy to spell based on the sound and tone.  Other words simply need to be memorized and this is further complicated by the fact that there are many consonants that make the same sound.  For example, five consonants for the initial ‘k’ sound (ข, ฃ, ค, ฅ, ฆ), 4 consonants for the initial ‘s’ sound (ซ, ศ, ษ, ส), and 5 consonants for the initial ‘t’ sound (ฑ, ฒ, ถ, ท, ธ).  The choice is even more difficult when choosing consonants for the ending syllable sound.  There are six consonants for ‘k’, six consonants for ‘n’, six consonants for ‘p’, and seventeen consonants for ‘t’!  Then there are the words that have a gaa-ran (Thai:การันต์) over one or more consonants.  This symbol serves to silence the consonant so it is not pronounced.

This makes it seem like learning to spell is a nearly impossible task.  Memorization is still needed but once the tone is figured out, the possibilities for spelling a word are greatly reduced.  So, here’s a chart that can be used to help figure out how to spell words.

  1. Low Tone
    1. MIDDLE + DEAD
    2. อ + ย + DEAD
    3. MIDDLE + ่ + LIVE
    4. อ + ย +  ่ + LIVE
    5. HIGH + DEAD
    6. ห + (งนมรยญวล) + DEAD
    7. HIGH + ่ + LIVE
    8. ห + (งนมรยญวล) +  ่ + LIVE
  2. Middle Tone
    1. MIDDLE + LIVE
    2. LOW + LIVE
  3. High Tone
    1. LOW + SHORT + DEAD
    2. LOW + ้
    3. MID + ๊
  4. Rising Tone
    1. HIGH + LIVE
    2. ห + (งนมรยญวล) + LIVE
    3. MID + ๋
  5. Falling Tone
    1. LOW + LONG + DEAD
    2. LOW + ่
    3. MIDDLE + ้
    4. HIGH + ้
    5. ห + (งนมรยญวล) +  ้

Note that in the above rules, ‘ห’ is used to change a low class consonant to a high class consonant and ‘อ’ is used to change the low class consonant ‘ย’ to middle class.  When ‘อ’ and ‘ห’ are used to change the class of a consonant they are silent.

Also note that the tone marks ‘ ๋’ and ‘ ๊’ only ever appear over middle class consonants.

There are only four words where ‘อ’ is used to change ‘ย’ to middle class and they are all pronounced with a low tone.  They are:

  1. อยาก – want / desire
  2. อย่า – do not / prohibit
  3. อย่าง – type / kind
  4. อยู่ – to be (somewhere) / live / occupy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s